Loving Kindness

The Holy Spirit wisely advised us through Paul that faith, hope and love endure, but that the greatest of these is love. (1 Corinthians 13:13) Love serves as a gateway for other fruits to develop. It’s the one fruit of the Spirit that we must possess in order for the the others to manifest or be meaningful at all. Paul goes as far to say that without love, he has nothing.

Throughout the Word of God, there are multiple references to one character of God that has personally drawn me closer to Him in my walk. It just so happens to be a fruit of the Spirit.

The kindness of God.

But not only does it mention His kindness, but it goes a step further.

His loving kindness.

The authors of the Scriptures could not find a way to emphasize just how kind God is…so they married two fruits of the Spirit to get their point across.

I believe it is very important to understand God’s loving kindness and His character in order for us to learn how to mirror ourselves after our Father. After all, the whole point of developing fruit is to be transformed into the image of Christ, amen?

There is one verse that has been coursing through my veins this week. I’m sure it was no coincidence considering that kindness was the fruit that I was starting to write about. He’s attentive like that.

“It is of Jehovah’s loving kindnesses that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not.” – Lamentations 3:22  

This verse really brings it home for me. The very fact that we are not consumed or overcome in this life is simply and profoundly because of His loving kindness. Our salvation is a direct result of this beautiful trait of His. Not only does He save us by this, but it is also what draws us to Him.

The Lord hath appeared of old unto me, saying, Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love: therefore with loving kindness have I drawn thee.” – Jeremiah 31:3

I know I went King James there, but look at it! We can’t help but be drawn and captured by Him because He extends His sweet, unfailing love to us! It’s like a magnetic attraction. He chooses us first, but then we respond to His irresistible loving kindness.

Let’s pause here and just dwell on that tonight. Be drawn to Him and enraptured by His kindness towards you.

 

 

 

Leave a comment