The Peacemakers

“Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.” – Matthew 5:9

When I first read the Beatitudes, I always wondered which category I would fall into…if any. It felt like some high calling, something to reach for and hopefully be able to attain. I thought to myself, “I sure hope He’s talking about me.”

A question kept echoing in my head as I read the verse above:

Would I be associated with this group or would be the opposite? Would I be considered a troublemaker instead of a peacemaker?

It never said, “Blessed are the troublemakers.”

If I’m being honest…I would be lying if I said that I was a peacemaker. In fact, it’s laughable. How would I describe myself, you ask? Fiesty, protective, sarcastic…and cynical. (And that’s on a good day…don’t even ask about my bad ones)

I highly doubt that Jesus had any of those characteristics. But He made me knowing full well that I would. He also has come to make me new.

The definition of peacemaker:
“A person who brings about peace, especially by reconciling adversaries.”

How does a peacemaker walk through this world with out throwing a hissy fit or causing a riot? Surely they lose their cool in traffic, or snap sometimes! To be honest, it’s a conscious choice they make. We all have the free will to be peaceful everyday, but sometimes our flesh takes over and peace is not our strongest suit. Now, there are some people who are passive and mellow by nature. For these people, it may be easier. But true peace, just as true joy, comes from Jesus.

Throughout the day, we are faced with situations and circumstances to practice peace. Usually it will be in our responses that it will be evident if we are walking in peace. How can we start developing peace?

– Resist the urge to argue
– Refuse to participate in anything that could lead to conflict…gossip, etc
– Refuse to retaliate and love instead
– Accept that there will be trials and suffering but God provides and sustains us…He is always good.

“But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, impartial and sincere. And a harvest of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace.” – James 3:17

“Finally, all of you, have unity of mind, sympathy, brotherly love, a tender heart, and a humble mind. Do not repay evil for evil or reviling for reviling, but on the contrary, bless, for to this you were called, that you may obtain a blessing. For

“Whoever desires to love life
and see good days,
let him keep his tongue from evil
and his lips from speaking deceit;
let him turn away from evil and do good;
let him seek peace and pursue it.” – 1 Peter 3:8

Leave a comment