Intimacy with God

God has a far different idea of a “relationship” with Himself then we do sometimes. Within the pages of His love letter to us, His affection for us is hard to miss. The endearing names He uses are undeniably sweet…

  • Beloved
  • Bride
  • My darling
  • My beautiful one

The intimacy that He desires to have with us far outweighs any earthly relationship that we could ever encounter. In fact, it will never even come close. We were created for relationship,and nothing can satisfy that longing other than Jesus Himself. If there is anything else vying for your attention, rearrangement is necessary. Nothing deserves to have more priority than Him. Demote anything that is keeping you from deepening your relationship with God.

Some have a difficult time viewing the Lord in this light. It’s easy to stay in a religious state of mind when it comes to being a believer and get lost in routine. Some are unaware of the invitation to go deeper in our walk with the Father. Maybe no one has told them that they can go as deep as they want to. Faith becomes boring when this is the case, and some leave the faith because of that very reason. Why would someone want to devote their life to something that is mundane and is not personable?

I remember when Jesus first awakened me…I simply fell in love with Him. How could I not? When I realized  the depth of His sacrifice for me, brought on by His love for me…there was no question. Life truly began for me. The way I looked at everything changed. Simple tasks have turned into encounters with my King. Cleaning house and cooking turn in songs of praise…long drives turn into heartfelt conversations…church is not a chore. A song close to my heart is “More Like Falling in Love”, by Jason Gray:

“I need more than
A truth to believe
I need a truth that lives
Moves and breathes
To sweep me off my feet, it’s gotta be
More like falling in love
Than something to believe in
More like losing my heart
Than giving my allegiance”

Once this transition takes place & you become aware of how crazy God is about you, it becomes easy to surrender and fall in love with Him in return. It’s a beautiful exchange and life is never the same. Simply ask God to have your eyes opened to know Him in this way, and for more of Him in your life. And get ready to be blown away. 

“The Lord your God is in your midst, a Mighty One who will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness; He will quiet you by his love; He will exult over you with loud singing.” – Zephaniah 3:17

“You are altogether beautiful, my darling; there is no flaw in you.” – Song of Solomon 4:7

2 thoughts on “Intimacy with God

  1. That song is beautiful Heather! It’s so funny, I was listening to another song and one of the lyrics was “You have called me deeper” and this song has it too! Sweet confirmation from God! 🙂 Thank you for sharing! Beautiful song.

Leave a Reply

