Governed by the Holy Spirit

When walking with Christ, there comes a point when you began to realize that you are not who you once were. The way you think, behave and speak have become different. Usually, you are more gentle, more kind, and more thoughtful. In other words, you get pruned.

Jesus stated in John 15 the following:

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser.  Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit.  Already you are clean because of the word that I have spoken to you.  Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me.  I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.  If anyone does not abide in me he is thrown away like a branch and withers; and the branches are gathered, thrown into the fire, and burned.  If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.  By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples.”

It’s not necessarily painful. Comparable to exercise, it’s a challenge and pushes my thresholds…but the end result is a satisfied feeling with a desirable result.

What is the result?

Holiness. 

Jesus desires to make us more like Him.

There are a couple of reasons for that:

  • We are his ambassadors here on Earth…we must represent Him and let our light shine!
  • We are His bride…who wouldn’t want their bride to be filled with the fruits of the Holy Spirit?

A common way of wording this is being “Spirit-led”.(Romans 8:14) Being led by the Spirit of God Himself, we walk in His presence. Imagine Him taking a hold of your hand and leading you through a dark path. Throughout each situation, each moment, we are aware of Him. This lifestyle consists of some actions on our part.

1. Conversing with Jesus…Ask for His opinion on things in your life…and be open to hearing it.

2. Spending Time with Jesus…alone. Set aside time daily to dwell in His presence. (this is life-changing)

3. Trusting Jesus…His ways are far above ours, and He wants the very best for His babies.

Once invited, the Holy Spirit embodies the believer & influences their behavior, thought pattern & speech. One of my favorite verses that describes this is:

“In Him we live and move and have our being” – Acts 17:28

Throughout this process, you begin to be governed by the Holy Spirit. This term is new to me, but explains it so well.

Govern: To have or exercise a determining influence.

This doesn’t mean He controls you like a puppet or a robot. In fact, there’s more freedom in it. For once, the actions that are taking place are truly serving a purpose. They are not from ourselves(our flesh), but are flowing from the Holy Spirit. Once we surrender to His ways and not ours, then and only then will we truly know just how free we are.

 “So I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh.  For the flesh desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the flesh.” – Galatians 5:16

“But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, He will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you.” – John 14:26

4 thoughts on “Governed by the Holy Spirit

  1. I love the reminder that there’s more freedom in this Christ-governed life! I was reading in Romans about either being a slave to sin or a slave to righteousness. Yes, we are “slaves” to Christ and yet He sets us free!

Leave a Reply

